2013 Goal #3 Exercising

gaols 2013

I have a treadmill. It’s not like I have to go to the gym, or even step foot outside. There’s no excuse. I just need a fire lit under my arse.

So, in order to light my fire, I talked to girls at work into running a 5k with me in the spring. Now that I have shot off my mouth, I’m really going to have to do the work.

I’ve done the Couch 2 5k program before. I finished it then went outside to try to run and couldn’t run more than 3 minutes. I realized the hard way that running on the road is much harder than running on a treadmill. But I also learned that if you up the incline, it will be more like running on the road.

c25kMy Plan:

  1. Start getting up earlier each day this week. That means not hitting snooze (oy). Before I met The Ex I was getting up at 4am to get on the treadmill before work. Late night phone calls nixed that and I haven’t done it since.
  2. Do the entire nine week Couch to 5K program and run a 5k in the spring with the girls from work.
  3. Start on the treadmill while it’s still cold out but get out whenever I can.
  4. Do yoga 3 nights a week for strength training until I’m done with the Couch to 5K program. (That is if I can find my yoga mat, etc.)

I will make adjustments to this plan as I go along. I know I can do this because I’ve done it before. I just need to get out of my own way!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

