2013 Goal #1: Meditation

gaols 2013

meditation-techniquesMeditation has done me a lot of good. It has helped me to realize a lot about myself and that’s just in the sporadic amount that I have done it. I know that if I did it on a more regular basis it would probably create a whole new me. I know how to do it. It’s not hard. I only need to find five minutes at a time to start so what’s my problem? I have no idea.

My plan:

  1. I plan on joining the meditation group at church that meets at 7pm on Mondays. I’m thinking that if I have to go and talk to people about meditation, that may get me to do it more often so I have something to talk about.
  2. Instead of trying to get up earlier to do it, I’m going to take 5 minutes after tucking in Willow to sit and meditate each night. I’m putting a reminder in my phone to try to keep me on track.I will do this every week night for one month. Then I will revisit it to see if I’m ready to try some other types of meditation.

I’m only starting with five minutes and doing a breath counting meditation that is a simple way to start. I just need to start.

meditating

If only I could find a place like this to sit and meditate I’ll bet I’d do it a lot more!

2 thoughts on “2013 Goal #1: Meditation

  1. Boho mom

    Okay, that’s brilliant! I can never commit to regular a yoga/meditation practice because I always plan to get up an hour earlier…and then I’m too tired, or I push the snooze alarm, and the sunrise yoga thing never really comes together. Awesome idea to start small – if I don’t put so much pressure on myself, then I can easily do 5 minutes!! Thanks – luv this post!

    Reply
    1. Lotus Post author

      I’ve found that taking baby steps keeps me from overwhelming myself with all the stuff I want to do. I do better if I dip a toe in rather than jumping in head first. Especially for us single moms with not a lot of “extra” time.

      Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

