It’s never too late to make a difference, right?

I’ve been watching Whale Wars on Animal Planet. For those of you who have never heard of it, a quick rundown.  Paul Watson is the leader of the Sea Shepard Crew. He was in Greenpeace in the 70’s but decided that picketing and all that kind of stuff wasn’t doing anything and wanted to have a bigger effect. So, he got together a crew and they sail out near Antarctica and fight against the Japanese fleet who are killing whales under the guise of research. They put their lives on the line to try to save these whales. It may sound crazy and I thought it was at first too, but now I completely understand. There have been several times when I was somewhere and sticking to my new veggiesaurus life style was a hard choice. But then I thought off what these animals go through and reminded myself that this tiny bit of suffering is nothing compared to their suffering. That made me understand what these guys are thinking.  There are plenty of laws out there to protect the whales but no one there enforcing them. These people are protecting what can’t protect itself and that is really an amazing thing! 

And I want to be part of it. 

At this point in my life, I obviously have way too much responsibility to pick up and go sailing to Antarctica to protect the whales.  I have a mortgage to pay and all the bills that go along with that .My daughter needs me here, though if there was no chance of her getting hurt, I would bring her along with me.  But can I do something here that fulfill this dream of mine to make a difference in this world?  Is there a way to change society’s new status quo that  continues to destroy the earth and hurt our most precious, helpless beings, the animals?

When I think back to the years before I had my daughter, I want to find that girl and beat the shit out of her. The thought of all that time wasted, drinking and doing drugs and partying kills me now. Not to mention all the stupid things I did while doing all that partying.  I’m still not sure if it was all rebellion or trying to hide from myself. I spent a lot of time growing up feeling like I needed to hide who I really was because it was never good enough for my mother. So, I don’t know if those years of being high on one thing or another was my next step in avoiding the real me.  But, I digress….

I guess regretting what I did in the past isn’t really helping me in the present so I’m taking it as a lesson in not wasting time.  I just hope that I didn’t miss my chance to make a real difference somewhere, somehow.

4 thoughts on “It’s never too late to make a difference, right?

  1. Jenni

    This post is 100% me. Before having kids, I always wanted to go on a campaign like the Sea Shepards. Never happened, and probably never will because of my decisions in life. Oh well.

    Reply
  2. B M

    I have had the exact same thoughts now and again, and have written about it along the way as reminders to move forward …the last one was just a couple of posts ago..

    You don’t want to have regrets for memories but life at the end of your days.

    Reply
  3. The Blue Faerie

    It’s great that you want to make a difference! I always like working with kids. They really do remember what you tell them (even if they like to pretend they don’t), and they’re never boring. 🙂

    Whaling-wise, though, people might want to take inspiration from a better group than the Sea Shepherds. Not only have their protests failed to decrease the number of whales being slaughtered, but the group’s actions have proved to be a major setback to political talks between other organizations (Greenpeace & The International Whaling Commission to name two) and the governments of countries engaged in whaling (Japan, Norway and Iceland). In addition, their leader, Paul Watson, has been criticized for his constant manipulation of the media. Recently he claimed that the Dalai Lama, a man known worldwide for his philosophy of peaceful protesting, sent a letter giving his blessing to the crew and to their methods.

    A really good, and fun, way to help whales is to take whale watching tours. If whales are worth more when they’re alive and free, there will be no reason to hunt them.

    Um… sorry for the mini rant. … Can you tell that I’m not a fan of Whale Wars? 😛 But I like your blog!

    P.S. We don’t ignore red flags. Not when they’re up on the lifeguard stand at the beach. That red flag means red tide. 😛

    Reply
  4. Ajith

    I like to leave a small comment about this>
    I do not know if you like to accept this idea, but I have some investigations and had my own experiences that our lives are already decided for us by our own past Karma, in other word there is a predetermined fate. How ever it is not 100% of every thing but with some degrees of free will (still varies person to person).
    I met an incredible Indian Astrologer who predict things with amazing details. It is unbelievable, I’m not trying to convince you but this is my observed and investigated experience.
    This is a big subject to go in details, but this is not the place for it.

    Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

