Going Vegetarian

I’ve been listening to “Skinny Bitch” on my iPod while on the treadmill. I bought the audiobook a long time ago but didn’t listen to the whole thing. Then a friend of mine was talking about it on Facebook so I gave it another shot. The part that I missed was when they read an excerpt from the book Slaughterhouse: The Shocking Story of Greed, Neglect, and Inhumane Treatment Inside the U.S. Meat Industry . It was so horrible that I started crying on the treadmill and couldn’t listen to the whole thing. I knew that the factory farming industry was bad but I had no idea. Then I ended up over at GoVeg.com and found this video (WARNING: This video is awful, no horrendous, no, there’s no word to describe it. I could not watch the whole thing but I can’t get the picture of a poor baby piglet having his teeth cut and screaming out of my head). The thought of helping these assholes do this to these animals, makes me gag, literally.

So I’m trying some recipes and trying to get my daughter to go along without kicking and screaming. I had already started curbing our addiction to processed foods by making snacks and treats at home.  She hates red meat so that’s not a problem. Tonight we had the only red meat thing that I didn’t have to fight her on, tacos. I used Morning Star grille crumbles and she loved it. Though the vegan brownies with tofu that I tried, were not a hit, thanks to @sleeplessinsimi I have a better recipe that I will be trying hopefully tomorrow.

We are two girls who have become junk food addicts and who are scared of veggies. Can we really make this much of a change?

5 thoughts on “Going Vegetarian

  1. mommasunshine

    I tried to go completely vegetarian after learning more details about factory farming years ago. For me, it wasn’t practical and was just too tough. I found that I need to eat meat every now and again in order for my body to feel good and healthy. One compromise that I did was to start buying “happy meat” – animals raised humanely by local farmers (free range organic). I can feel good about this choice while I still satisfy my craving for bacon 😉

    Reply
  2. The Reality of White Picket Fences

    Good for you and your daughter. I know with the kids it can be a lil trying at times. I am no expert for certain, but if you have any questions, feel free to ask. I will do my best to help in any way I can. 😀

    Reply
  3. B M

    .. sounds gross and when you watch videos even grosser… but giving up meat is hard… we can try to cut down…

    BM

    Reply
  4. Amanda

    Hi! I just found your blog through New England Bloggers. I am a fellow NH resident. I am enjoying your blog so far. I have recently begun a journey in the past five years to live a more sustainable life with my small family. I was a vegetarian for 13 years and then started eating meat again. Four years ago I went vegetarian again and then my cousin turned me toward this book (because I was about to go vegan) called “The Vegetarian Myth”. I have seen “Food Inc.” and what happens in factory farms is beyond words. But there are some issues with grains that you should be aware of before having you and your daughter go veg. I am now a “localtarian”. We buy all organic fruits and veg and buy our meats from local farmers.

    Looking forward to reading more about your journey!

    Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

