Snotty little attitude

snotty

 

This morning Dancing Chick had the shittiest attitude! Everything I said got a snotty remark, a whatever, or a little attitude noise (anyone else get these attitude noises or is it something my kid invented?) It got to the point where I started screaming like a banshee. And then, of course, she starts crying. I told her that when she gives me an attitude, it makes me want to cry too and walked away. After she got dressed, she came out of her room with a nice, sunny disposition. I don’t want to have to scream like a crazy lady to get her to stop the little snotty attitude but I don’t know what else to do. And in the mornings, I am just unable to deal with a shitty tude.

I saw in my yahoo reader a blog title about kids with attitudes and that it’s their way of showing anger or something but now I can’t find it. Anyone know who’s it was???? Help please! I really need to read it!

5 thoughts on “Snotty little attitude

  1. Melissa

    Ehh, I don’t know the article but I have the same problem. Usually as soon as it starts I say his name and give him ‘the look’ and then he smiles and says he was just kidding. I think he does it as a “Mommy you’re not paying enough attention to me how I want it.” He’s six though.
    When he was younger i’d scream and yell and he’d cry and then I’d cry and then I’d apologize and tell him why he needed to apologize and then I’d let him pick something for us to do together. So I don’t know if he remembers those fun days or what, but I’m glad it’s over for now. I’m sure it’ll return in a few years or maybe months.

    Good luck!!! It’ll get better.

    Reply
    1. KA Post author

      “The Look” stopped working about a year ago. I still haven’t found anything that works as good as that once did. Now it’s just “Hold on mum” and “What” in the snottiest way ever. I’ve tried ignoring it, I’ve tried time outs every single time she does it (she was in time out pretty much all day long) and nothing seems to work. Maybe I’ll just lock her in her room until it’s over. *insert sigh here.*

      Though, in her defense, she has her sunny disposition back this morning. Please let it last!!!!!!

      Reply
  2. vinomom

    It’s enough to drive you crazy. I’ve been driven to the point of hysterical screaming too. And mine’s only NINE ! Lord help me through the teen years.

    Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

