I will protect my daughter…from ANYONE!!!

angryI am literally seeing red right now. On the way home from her grandparent’s house after school, my 9 year old daughter told me some of the things that her grandmother said to her this morning after I dropped her off. The outfit she picked this morning was questionable. I told her it didn’t go together and she said that’s ok and decided to wear it. My mother commented to me when I dropped her off but I ignored her. Dancing Chick wasn’t going to a damn fashion show for christ sake. So, come to find out, after I left my mother told DC that she wouldn’t go to her school today (there was this seminar on the new reading program that I couldn’t go to) because she would be embarrassed if DC waved to her and said “hi Grandma.” After she is done telling me this, I tell DC that I am going to have a talk with Grandma because she should never speak to her like that. DC starts crying and says that Grandma will be mean to her if I do. This is not the first time that I have heard this from DC. My mother and I got in a fight over a book of mine that she borrowed. DC make a comment when Grandma was at our house to give me back the book. Come to find out that on their walk down to the lake my mother told DC that it was her fault that my mother and I were fighting. She begged and pleaded with me not to talk to Grandma about it and I didn’t, but I can no longer let this slide.

Now my mother did crap like that to me growing up and pretty much took every opportunity to smash my self-esteem, still does but I can ignore it now. She WILL NOT do that to my daughter. There was no one there to protect me from it but I am here and I WILL protect my daughter from it. Don’t get me wrong, I greatly appreciate all that my parents do for me (and my mother will most certainityly throw that in my face tomorrow morning). But that doesn’t give her the right to talk to me the way she does (that’s a whole different post) and most definately doens’t give her the right to talk to my daughter the way she does!

I called her to ask her why she said those things to DC and the $%*&^# bi#$* hung up on me. I called back and my dad answered and said she doesn’t want to talk to you. I asked why she felt it was OK to talk to DC the way she did but not discuss it with me and of course my dad says I don’t know but she doesn’t want to talk to you. So I told him I will have to talk to her tomorrow about it.

If only I made more money I would put poor DC in daycare in a heartbeat. I switched my schedule around so I can leave work at 3:30 so that will really on leave two days a week that she will have to be with Grandma in the afternoon but it will be more time in the morning. My goal is to make sure that DC has everything done when she gets there and only has to sit and watch TV.
OMG I am so friggin pissed right now. I am very close to getting in the Jeep and driving back and asking why the fuck she thinks it’s OK to do this to a child!??!?!

2 thoughts on “I will protect my daughter…from ANYONE!!!

  1. Elizabeth

    OMG! It’s nice to have your parents close, especially as a single parent, but that’s not the Grandma way.
    I know a lot of single moms who care-share for after school.

    I’ve added you to the NE Bloggers list. If you’d like to get sporadic updates about activities or online scavenger hunts, etc. You can drop me a line.
    e_bogardus AT hotmail DOT com

    Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

