Book Club

 

 I started a book club back in August after I convinced all my friends to read the Twilight series (I swore I wouldn’t read it. Come on it’s for teenagers. But I went into Borders and while waiting for Dancing Chick to pick a book I picked up Twilight. Forty five minutes later I was hooked. And everyone else gave in and read it to shut me up and they were just as addicted!). We loved talking about the books so I thought it would be nice for us all to start reading books together. So, I thought it might be nice to share here what books we are reading to maybe give others looking for a good book (or to help others avoid bad ones) a couple of ideas.

Our August book was Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

I give it 5 stars (I can’t figure out how to put cool stars in and why can’t I hyperlink here???) It’s a great story in a very different setting.
September’s book was The Last Bridge by Teri Coyne
I give it 4 stars (I really wish I could put cool stars here!)
It’s kind of a dark story, messed up childhood and how it affects her adulthood, but a real page turner.

Our October book is Sheer Abandon by Penny Vincenzi

sheer adandon

I have not started this yet because homework (well, OK, I started reading the Sookie Stackhouse books and couldn’t put the first one down. I told myself I wouldn’t read anything other than the book club book and homework due to my lack of reading time but I couldn’t help it) and now I’m hearing from the other girls that it really sucks. I keep trying to make myself read it but have only read the list of characters on the first page (what novel has a list of characters on the first page!??!) But, it was a rule that each one of us gets to pick books and we all have to read it. Just wish that one of our members didn’t get books from the bargain bin. It’s in the bargain bin for a reason!

So that’s were we are at right now. The first meeting was a blast. It was at my house and we sat on the back deck, drank some brew and just chatted (plus it was nice to send the kid to the rents and have some adult talk!) The second meeting I missed because Dancing Chick got off the bus not feeling well and begged me not to go. The next one will be the last Thursday in October (they are the last Thursday of every month) so I’ll bring some other opinions to you after the meeting.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

