A new year=365 new days

And that means 365 chances to be a better, calmer, and more centered me. So, this year isn’t going to be about big sweeping changes. I’m going to work on being the best person I can be each day.

There will not be a “diet” this year, there will be healthy eating. Dieting makes me think of nothing but food all day long.  And it makes me very cranky and snippy.  This crankiness is usually taken out quite a bit on my work neighbor.  She is over 6 feet tall, skinny and beautiful. So I pretty much hate her when I’m dieting. This is not fair to her. So just making a conscious effort to eat healthier will (I think) work better for me.  I need to do this for my daughter as much as for myself.  The little junk food junky that I have created is starting to get a little junk in her trunk. And I don’t want her to be 34 and still be a junk food junky (like her mother).  The fact that I HATE to cook is the main issue that must be dealt with here. I’ve tried all the things that are supposed to help make cooking easier. What it comes down to is that I am just too lazy to do it.  It’s wasting too much money and creating a terrible habit that will be very hard for Dancing Chick to kick the older she gets.

The laziness comes from the slovenly lifestyle that I have sunk back into.  I know that if I get my huge, lazy ass out of bed and take the two steps (yes, literally two steps) to the treadmill in the morning I will not only have more energy but my entire outlook and attitude will change. It’s amazing how quickly I have lost sight of goals because my laziness makes it easy to not do it rather than work hard. I hate that.  That is such a terrible role model for my kid. I took last term off from my classes so that has helped me to be even lazier. When I am doing some kind of running program I feel better about myself and just have a better outlook in general. And I know this. I have more energy.  And I know this. I give my kid more attention and have more patience with her. And I know this. I lose weight and feel more in control. And I know this. I have a general, all-around sunnier disposition. And I know this. So why can’t I just do it?  I don’t know that.

So instead of making my usual list of resolutions that make me just too overwhelmed that I give up on all of them, I am going to take each day and do what I know I should do. Get up early and use my treadmill, eat healthier, meditate, get homework/reading done before the exact minute it is due, get to bed earlier and anything else that I know will help me be the  me I want to be each day. All of this together will help me accomplish the biggest resolution I have for myself and that is to be a better me, the me that I know I can be and really want to be. It’s just time to get out of my own way.

7 thoughts on “A new year=365 new days

  1. Samantha

    I love your approach to the new year! I stuggle with the not wanting to cook either. But I’ve been forcing myself to try recipes that are really yummy and a little fun and I have actually started to enjoy it. Cooking 2 to 3 meals on Sunday that can last the week has worked for me. I play with my son in between chopping, and stirring and it makes for a great Sunday. Good Luck!

    Reply
  2. Teresa

    Good luck! Trader Joe’s has lots of frozen healthy entrees for when you can’t cook or just flat out don’t want to. I have a freezer full of them now and quite frankly, they save the day sometimes!

    Reply
  3. vinomom

    I know, it is all so much easier said than done. I HATE to cook too. My kid lives off of Top Ramen and Spaghettios. I feel like a good mom when I have time to scramble eggs in the morning. I just began working out today like every other person in the USA. But I am trying to just implement a lifestyle as opposed to making some huge weight loss goal. I agree completely with you, I am better all around when I eat better and exercise more. I’m lazy too! One thing I did do this week was buy some fruit and prepackage it up in daily portions so I can just grab and go. For lunch I’m eating 2 rice cakes with peanut butter and a bag of grapes. I know it sounds like rabbit food but it’s actually pretty filling. Now I’m trying to get back to being at least 90% Gluten Free as well.

    Reply
  4. Mrs. Money

    I’m doing the healthy eating part too. I definitely want to lose weight but I want to be healthier even more! I just found your blog and I’m off to read more!

    Reply
  5. Michele

    I totally thought I left a comment for you already. I think I’m losing my mind…

    What a great post, and great approach to the new year.
    You rock!!

    I have lowered my standards this year… in a last ditch effort to avoid disappointment and self-loathing. LOL ( I kid, I kid)

    Reply
  6. Elizabeth

    Happy New Year, New England Bloggers!

    Our 1-year anniversary is coming up Jan 27. To mark the occasion I am going to put up a Mr. Linky on the evening of Mon, Jan 25. If you’d like to write a post about living in NE, your favorite places to visit, recipes, folktales, music, famous people, NE authors or books, whatever interests you. I’d also like a little idea of # of participants, if you could just send me a reply.
    I apologize if you are getting this twice. Many people haven’t given me emails so I have to leave it in the comments.

    Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

